It can happen in a flash. One minute you are working at your job and the next you find you have suddenly had an accident and have been injured. Most employees are covered by workers’ compensation insurance through their employers. There are some things you should do in order to make sure that your injury expenses will be covered by workers’ compensation.
Report the Work Injury
This is the most important first step after any work injury. You must report the injury to your employer as soon as possible. Most companies have a process in place for reporting accidents and injuries. You may report the injury to your immediate supervisor or to the human resources department or both.
You must report the injury quickly but in no more than 30 days or your claim will likely be denied. In any situation, the sooner you report your injury the better. As time goes by, your company may begin to doubt whether the injury occurred while you were working and this can make it more difficult to get your claim approved.
Seek Medical Care at a Georgia Doctors Office
If you are injured while at work your employer should provide you with medical treatment at one of their approved care providers. According to the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation (SBWC), companies are required to have a medical provider in place for use if you were injured at work.
The employer must provide a list of at least doctors that you may choose from for your medical care. Some of the doctors may be specialists, such as orthopedic physicians. Another option for employers is to provide employees with the name of a Workers’ Compensation Management Care Organization (WC/MCO). You will be given a 24-hour phone number to reach the organization. The organization’s representative will help you find a medical provider and can assist you in scheduling an appointment.
Georgia Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Short-term workers’ compensation benefits are available for injured workers who will be unable to work for a period of more than seven days. You will receive a portion of your regular wages until you are able to return back to work. You should receive two-thirds of your average weekly salary, not to exceed $575 per week.
You should start getting checks within three weeks of your injury. If you are off work for more than 21 days, you will be paid for the first week. You may receive benefits for up to 400 weeks if approved. In some instances, you may be entitled to lifetime benefits if the injury was catastrophic and you are unable to recover. In that case, permanent disability guidelines will be followed.
Help from an Experienced Savannah Workers’ Compensation Attorney
Not all cases are resolved easily or smoothly. In some instances, your injury may be questioned and your claim could be denied. An experienced Savannah workers’ compensation attorney will guide the process and assist with the claim. Your attorney will gather and provide the necessary documentation to resolve a claim and get you the compensation you deserve for your injury.
Contact the award-winning team at The Bader Law Firm for a free case review.