When employees sustain an injury on the job that requires time off of work, they are entitled to income benefits under Georgia workers’ compensation laws, also referred to as wage replacement benefits or disability benefits. The amount and duration of your benefits depends on the severity of your injury, how long it takes you to recover, and whether or not you can do light work in the interim.
The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation provides for four basic types of income benefits, each discussed briefly below.
Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD)
If you were injured on the job and your Authorized Treating Physician determines that you are unable to work and you miss more than seven days, you will qualify for temporary total disability benefits. Your benefit check will be equal to two-thirds of your average weekly wage at the time of the injury, not to exceed the maximum amount allowed under the law.
Below are a couple important facts about TTD.
- Georgia Workers’ Compensation laws place a cap on the duration you can receive TTD benefits at 400 weeks from the date of your injury.
- However, if the injury is catastrophic, such as a traumatic brain injury, paralysis or total blindness, the benefits are not limited. Special laws apply to catastrophic cases, so you will need to see a workers’ compensation attorney for help.
Click to get more information about TTD.
Temporary Partial Disability (TPD)
If your injury was debilitating and temporarily disabling, but you are able to return to work in a lesser-paying position than you held prior to your injury, you should qualify for temporary partial disability benefits.
Your weekly TPD check will equal two-thirds of the difference between your average weekly wage before and after the injury. So, for example, if you were receiving $900 per week prior to your injury, and then had to take a $600-per-week position because of your disability, your TPD check would be $200 [($900 – $600) * 0.666]. TPD benefits are payable up to 350 weeks from the date of injury.
Click to get more information about TPD.
Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
If your workplace injury caused you to suffer a permanent disability, you will be entitled to permanent partial disability benefits. The amount of your benefits will be based on a percentage (disability rating) given by your Authorized Treating Physician in accordance with current AMA Guidelines.
The percentage is then figured into the specific formula outlined in O.C.G.A 34-9-263. It’s not uncommon for physicians to give employees too low of a rating. If you believe your PPD checks are lower than they should be, if you think you were prematurely released to work, or if you disagree with your physicians’ prognosis, call 404-888-8888 to speak with an Atlanta workers’ compensation attorney at our firm.
Click to get more information about PPD.
When workers sustain fatal injuries at work, their eligible dependents are entitled to death benefits including income replacement and funeral costs under workers’ compensation. Eligible dependents are the spouse and minor children. The amount of benefits is equal to two-thirds of the deceased’s average weekly wage at the time of the accident, not to exceed the state’s maximum.
Click to get more information about eligibility.
Ask Us If Your Benefit Check is Accurate
It is not uncommon for workers to run into speed bumps with their workers’ compensation benefits. Claims get denied, disability ratings can be inaccurate, and benefits can be stalled. Are you sure you’re receiving the correct amount? Do you need help securing income benefits?
For help with a workers’ compensation claim in Atlanta, we encourage you to call our team at Bader Law Firm, LLC. Contact us anytime to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation at 404-888-8888, and let us help you secure the benefits to which you are entitled.